Played Out of Position: A Play In One Act

16 06 2011

Based on an actual CTA Bus interaction overheard by author.

Scene: The back of a CTA bus.

Players: Three men (GUY1, GUY2, GUY3), late teens and early twenties. They are all stoned. GUY3, is clearly the oldest, fattest, and stoned-est.

Guy1

So he said to me, ‘You got played out of position!’ Like he played me out–I’m sayin, he can’t play me out of position, knameen? I play me out of position.

Guy2

That’s what he’s saying though. That you did the thing, but got played out of position.

Guy1

How could he play me out of position–

Guy2

–That’s what it means. If you’re playing out of position, then how’d you get there? You got played out.

Guy3

–of position.

Guy2

Right, out of position.

Guy1

I know that, I’m saying, uh, I gotta play myself out. Of, uh, position.

Guy2

Just give it up fam. You got played out of position! That’s it.

Guy1

I’m saying, if I was out of position at all, it was just ’cause I played out of position. That was what I did. Ain’t nobody else played me out.

Guy2

C’mon man, you didn’t do that. If somebody playing out of position, they didn’t pick to do that.

Guy1

So, what? They’re just playing out of position and don’t know it. Everybody’s looking at ’em, playing themselves out, uh–

Guy3

Of position.

Guy1

–and that’s it, they get played out and they don’t even know, they’re just playing out of position. Sometimes you play–you pick what you play. You pick it. It’s like–

Guy2

So, what–you looking, you’re in there, right, mixing it up, and you just step out–do that–play out of position. And you get called out, and say–

Guy1

“If I’m out of position, knamean, it’s ’cause I’m trying it out, and whatever.”

Guy2

Ha! Please. You got played out of position. He played you out!

Guy1

I ain’t get played out of position, know what I’m saying, I was there, everybody was doing their thing, I was in the cut. I stepped out.

Guy2

Yeah?

Guy1

So, I’m saying, how is that he played me out of position? You don’t get played out of position–nobody else plays you out of position. That’s him trying to do his thing, running his mouth. But you don’t get played out of position, you play yourself out of position, that’s it.

Long pause

Guy3

Man, you got played out of position.

Repeat twice.

End.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

